Music – the liberator of souls


You are welcome to listen to the Beethoven’s seventh symphony and read on…

 So much has been written…Music is :“the language of the spirit”…”an outburst of the soul”(Frederick Delius)… “the mediator between the spiritual and the sensual life” (Ludwig van Beethoven)… “washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life” (Berthold Auerbach)… “what life sounds like” (Eric Olson)… “You are the music while the music lasts”  (T.S. Eliot)

 I want to share with you a personal experience: Last week I’ve attended a wedding. the wedding was full of high-energy south American songs. It was a very happy wedding. I felt so good, dancing, feeling the music inside of me, urging me to move, I was moving in exact harmony to the music, each beat was reflected by my body, without thinking about the moves, without planning, just flowing with the music, letting my body the freedom he desired.

 Some of the girls complimented me on the way I moved, one of the girls who has never before spoke to me, suggested to teach me some moves, I felt the people around me feeling more relaxed, more natural, vibrating together as a group to the power of the music. There was (almost ) no judgment – I didn’t need to think of how I’m looking, didn’t need to be what I’m not, just to be one with the music…and yet I felt love towards me, I felt people want to be close to me…

 A thought crossed my mind: what would happen when I get older, when I will no longer be able to move like this, when I will be less attractive?

 I’ve realized that the positive reaction of the people toward me wasn’t because of any special movements I made, it wasn’t because of the way I look, it was mainly because of me becoming one with the music…and since I (my ego ) wasn’t there…nothing judged them…allowing them to be themselves and loosing themselves in the music…it had nothing to do with me.

 You probably know the feeling when you enjoy with somebody in a party…feeling so good with him…feeling so close to him…and then in the next morning… something is different, and you’re trying to understand why yesterday you felt something to him, and now you feel different ( less ?)…

This is exactly what I’m talking about !

It is not how you felt to him in the party…it is how you felt with yourself in that situation…it is how much did he accepted you as you are… how were you able to be yourself…without trying to be somebody else…and on many occasions the music is the mean that helps us do just that ( and maybe a beer or two J )

 When we do not think of what others think of us, when we are without masks, then our soul is librated, and we are once again part of nature, one with Tao. We experience true and internal Joy !

 I’ve realized that it doesn’t matter if I can dance, it doesn’t matter if other people think I’m attractive or not, it doesn’t matter what other people say…the only thing that matters is allowing my self to be me with the good and bad unique.

 I’ve realized that when my soul is free then nothing else matters.

what do you think ?